Tiger avoids late penalty to shoot 2nd-round 69 at Hero World Challenge
Tiger Woods carded a 3-under 69 in Round 2 of the Hero World Challenge, an eventful bounce-back performance that was derailed by a late double-bogey Friday.
Through 17 holes at Albany Golf Course in the Bahamas, Tiger was bogey-free with five birdies. However, his tee shot on No. 18 wound up in a bush, forcing him to punch out sideways and ultimately leading to an ugly double-bogey.
After the round, his punch-out was reviewed, as it appeared that he may have hit the ball twice. Woods was forced to hack at the ball awkwardly from his knees and used a questionable scooping motion, but he said he didn't feel like he'd hit it twice.
It was eventually determined that he hadn't violated the rules and the double-bogey would stand, even though Woods admitted the slow-motion footage reveals he did hit the ball twice, according to Bob Harig of ESPN.
Woods was saved by the rule book, which states that if high-definition, slow-motion footage is necessary to determine whether a double hit occurred, a penalty cannot be applied.
Once the dust settled, his second-round 69 only moved him up a couple spots on the leaderboard to a tie for 14th at 2-under for the tournament.
Copyright © 2018 Score Media Ventures Inc. All rights reserved. Certain content reproduced under license.